MASA MASA   Join the National Association of Rocketry Minnesota Rocketry Network

About MASA


  Join MASA

Events Schedule



  Meeting Reports


  Launch Reports

Planet Newsletter

  Planet Online




  Email List


  Outreach Reports

Photo Gallery


Files -n- Forms

MASSY Awards

Open Contest



Last updated: Dec. 13, 2004
Site hosted courtesy of the
Minnesota Rocketry Network
Alan Estenson, Webmaster

December 2004 Holiday Party (12/11/2004)

On Saturday evening, December 11, about 20 MASA-ites gathered at the Durkee residence in Minneapolis for the annual club holiday party.  Space videos played on the TV set, delicious snacks disappeared, rocket talk filled the air  [and space talk, and sci-fi talk, and even D&D talk?]  Several party-goers received guided tours of the Durkee backyard Shed of Science [and it was very cool.]  The annual MASA gift exchange game was once again good for some fun with a TLP Matra kit and a Pratt MicroBeacon being the hotly contested items.

2004 MASSY Awards

MASA President Mike Erpelding presented the 2004 MASSY Awards.

  • Appreciation Award for hosting MASA Holiday Party:  Russ Durkee - presented with a certificate and phone calling card (Antarctica is long distance)
  • Family Participation Awards for most flights/ launches attended:
    • 2nd place:  The Lenz Family- 95 flights/ 6 launches
    • 1st place:  The Jarosch Family- 128 flights/ 10 of 11 club launches - presented with a certificate & 6- A8-3's w/ igniters
  • Certificate of Merit- Aid in finding a new launch site for the club:  Tim Bush- presented with a certificate & Estes Yankee kit
  • Certificates of Creativity:
    • Invention of the MASA Open Contests:  Ken Jarosch- certificate & ASP Eggstravaganza kit
    • Hindrocket creation:  Rick Vatsaas- certificate & blue crayon bank
  • Certificate of Achievement- For mentoring two TARC Teams that made it to the finals both years:  Art Gibbens- ASP Theta rocket kit & a pack of D12-0's
  • Certificates of Service:
    • Lee Frisvold- for making life as club president a WHOLE LOT EASIER!  Running 2 1/2 launches, including setting up and hauling the gear - certificate & Hub Gift Certificate
    • Ted Cochran- For all the services done for MASA in the areas of club officer, newsletter editor, top outreach project leader. Also serving the NAR and the entire hobby as a whole for making the sacrifice to become an NAR Board Trustee - certificate ( with a scan of his Quantum Leap from Sport Rocketry/ MASA Planet) & EMRR calendar & Hub gift certificate
  • Prang Award:  Jim Myers for the crash of his Deuces Wild Camera Rocket - certificate, NAR Pranger jacket patch, Traveling Estes William Shatner video, and a duplicate Deuces Wild kit.

Drawings were held for free door prizes.  The winners were:

  • (The following prizes were donated by Hub Hobby Center of Little Canada.)

  • Russ Durkee - B6-4's

  • Philip Gibbens - B6-4's

  • Don Boe - Estes Gauchito kit

  • Art Gibbens - Estes Lucky Seven kit

  • Deb Thell - ASP D-Region Tomhawk kit

  • Andy Heron - ASP Kappa 9M kit

  • Ed Eastman - ASP Wac Corporal with Tiny Tim booster kit

  • Seth Cochran - ASP Hangtime 24mm competition kit

  • Ted Cochran - Apogee SR-72 Darkbird kit

  • Caleb Boe - BMS School Rocket kit

  • (The following prizes were donated by Damian Kostron.)

  • Renee Gibbens - Estes R2D2 rtf rocket

  • Ellison Lenz - Estes Zinger kit

  • Brett McDowell - Estes Athena kit

To make sure that everybody left at the end of the evening with a prize, Estes "Ignite the Imagination" posters were presented to Mark Thell, David Whitaker, Hannah Gibbens, and Mike Erpelding.

A BIG thanks to Hub Hobby Center (Little Canada) and Damian Kostron for donating prizes!  A HUGE thanks to Russ Durkee  for hosting the party this year!  An enormous thanks to everyone who attended!

Extra thanks to club officers Mike Erpelding, Ted Cochran & Lee Frisvold for a great year!

(Alan Estenson)

Back to Meeting Reports